25

It’s the early morning of  my 25th birthday and I’m realizing just how much I’ve accomplished vs. how much I have yet to do.  I’ve graduate high school, been to college away from home and had that whole experience, worked a couple of jobs I’ve hated and few I’ve liked and bought a new car (just to name a few).  I’ve lost some friends and gain a couple new ones.  The ones I’ve lost have left a very large impression on my life and one in particular stands out for me.  She was my best friend in high school and for a few years after.  She was there for me during the awful years of braces, the wrong color concealer and gave me the reality check I needed when the boy I was infatuated with left me hanging and broke my heart.  After I left for college, we both started to head down different paths and make things happen for ourselves.  I started to notice that the girl who I was friends with was no longer there and I wasn’t sure if I could handle that.  I kept holding on to the memories of who we both were 10 years ago and didn’t want to admit that she wasn’t that person anymore and neither am I.  I do believe that a little sliver of ‘high school Jessica’ is still here and she pokes her head out every once in a while.  I just never saw that little sliver of her high school self poke out.  We had drifted so far apart that there was no way we would ever get close to how we were before.  I decided it was time to move on and close that chapter.  It was time to just remember the great times we had as teenagers and keep those memories of each other.  As I expected, she didn’t take it too well but I stand by my decision and I believe I will be better for it.  I wish her well and hope that she gets everything she ever wishes of and dreams for, she deserves that.

I’ve realized that life is so short and I need to make the most of it.  Because of this, I’m starting to realize that the people I spend time with are important.  I no longer care about having the most acquaintances or the largest network.  I care about having a rock solid team of people who I know I can count on.  I care about the quality, not the quantity of the people in my life.  For this reason, I’m closing doors and not looking back.  I have way too much to truly worry about and the company I keep can no longer bring me down.

The weight loss situation has kind of hit a wall.  I stopped attending the boot camp for a few reasons and I’m realizing how good it made me feel.  I don’t think I can afford to go back anytime soon but I WILL go back when I can.  I joined Weight Watchers about a month ago because it worked for me in high school and I knew it would work again.  Since I started it, I have lost a total of 6.6 pounds.  I consider this a major accomplishment because the 4th of July happened shortly after I joined and I gorged on a ton of food!  I have a goal in mind and I WILL get there, slowly but surely.

I don’t know how I will be spending my next 25 years, but I do know that they will be the best 25 of my life!

One thought on “25

  1. Amanda says:

    You’re at a great place in life ❤ Here’s to the next 25 years! May they be everything we’ve ever dreamed! Happy Birthday 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

