And so it begins…

Looking back, starting this right before the holidays was a bad idea!  But let’s get going.

The past few months I have been having some health issues that were also symptoms of diabetes.  I have a family history of diabetes (type 1 and 2) and I was getting a little worried so I finally broke down and had an appointment yesterday to have some tests done.  I got the results back this morning and I’m happy to say that I am not diabetic!  I am, however, super Vitamin D deficient.  Some of the research I’ve done says that your Vitamin D levels should be around 50 or so.  Well…mine is at 16 (yeah….not good).  I’m now taking a D-3 supplement every day and should be back to normal on that end pretty soon!

The other problem that they found is that my triglycerides and LDL Cholesterol are high.  For a normal 25 year old woman, my triglycerides should be around 150 but I’m up at 187 and with the LDL (bad) Cholesterol, I should be at 100 but I’m rocking a 154.  In order to lower these numbers, I need to eat more protein and whole grains and less fatty, processed foods.  I’m also supposed to be exercising and loosing 1-2 pounds a week.

Currently, I weigh 202 pounds and am 5′ 4″ tall.  This is the heaviest I have ever been and ever plan on being.  According to the BMI chart, I am obese.  Yep, obese.  Obese, obese, obese.  No matter how many times I type it, I still don’t believe it.  In order to get to the correct and healthy number on the chart, I need to loose somewhere between 60 to 80 pounds.  This is why I’m starting back up again and having some of my friends keep me honest with this.  I need to put this all out there and actually have someone/thing to hold me responsible for my actions and my life.  I am going to loose the weight.  I am going to eat healthier.  I am going to lower my numbers.  I am going to do this.  I might stumble and crash and burn a few times, but I’m not going to give up this time.

If you stay tuned, my lady balls might actually be big enough to post a few before pictures next time!

-jessicaleighhurley

2 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. Amanda says:

    I think it’s amazing that you’re being so open about your experience and goals. It takes a ton of guts to put yourself out in the world about intimate topics like this. I know you can do it – you have before! I can’t wait to see the results!

    Like

Leave a Reply

